Institute for Quality and Safety | 410-772-6700

Our Team

MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety Leadership

Our Leadership Team at MIQS has over 100 years collective experience in leading Patient Safety and Quality efforts. This core team continues to work together to promote, share and educate healthcare professionals, both young and seasoned, on their experience designing and implementing innovative programs that drive lasting culture change, and the safest, highest quality healthcare.

David Mayer, MD
Executive Director, MIQS

Martin J. Hatlie, JD
Co-Director, MIQS

Katie Carlin, MBA 
Assistant Vice President, Business Development and Operations

Christine Goeschel
Christine Goeschel, ScD, MPA, MPS, RN
Assistant Vice President and Director,
Center for Improving Diagnosis in Healthcare

Michael Hofmann
Michael Hofmann
Director, International Center for Bloodless Medicine & Surgery

Armando Nahum
Armando Nahum
Director, Center for Engaging Patients as Partners

Kelly Smith, PhD
Sr. Director, Quality & Safety Research

Tracy Granzyk, MS, MFA
Director, Center for Healthcare Narratives

Crystal Morales
Crystal Morales, MS, BSN, RN 
Senior Director, Education, MIQS

Devin Brinkley, MBA
Finance & Operations Manager




Haslyn Hunte, PhD, MPH, MPIA

Research Scientist
Haslyn Hunte, PhD, MPH, MPIA holds a PhD from the University of Michigan with a focus on Health Services Organization and Policy as well as a Masters of Public Health and a Masters of Public and International Affairs from the University of Pittsburgh. Much of his empirical research has focused on disparities in healthcare and health outcomes, specific areas include the differential access to healthcare services, the relationship between psychosocial stress/interpersonal discrimination and substance use and obesity/excess fat. He has extensive experience with designing questionnaires for various research projects, training survey research interviewers, developing quantitative/qualitative research strategies and analyzing large, complex data sets. Dr. Hunte and his colleagues has published in peer-reviewed journals such as the American Journal of Public Health, American Journal of Epidemiology, Journal of Urban Health, BMC Cancer and the Journal of General Internal Medicine.

Immediately before coming to MedStar Health, Dr. Hunte served as the sole health services researcher at Eagle Technologies where he led the development of the research capacity of the organization as it increased its health and human services business portfolio.

Bryan O. Buckley, DrPH, MPH

Research Fellow
Bryan O. Buckley, DrPH, MPH is a Research Fellow with the Medstar Health’s Institute for Quality and Safety (MIQS). He holds a Doctor of Public Health (DrPH) from Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health focused on management, strategy, leadership, and organizational change. In addition to a Bachelor of Science degree (BS) in Microbiology from Michigan State University and a Master of Public Health (MPH) with a concentration in Infectious Diseases and Administration from Michigan State University’s College of Human Medicine. He has training in various performance improvement and change management methodologies.

Dr. Buckley was previously a Manager of Patient Safety & Quality at the Michigan Health & Hospital Association (MHA) Keystone Center. He was responsible for the facilitation of multiple hospital patient-safety and quality-improvement efforts that focused on safety culture, person and family engagement, readmissions, health equity, and healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). He managed the federal accreditation as a listed Patient Safety Organization (PSO) and directed activities related to compliance with federal and state laws to maintain the listing, analysis of healthcare adverse events, and group learning events. Later he transitioned to working on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Hospital Engagement Network (HEN) & Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN) projects, which focus on decreasing hospital-acquired conditions (HACs) and preventable 30-day readmissions. Dr. Buckley led the efforts around healthcare disparities, readmissions, and HAIs improvements. Bryan also worked at the State Health Department as a HAI Epidemiologist, where he assisted in the launch of the state’s first Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) surveillance and prevention initiative.

Currently, Dr. Buckley serves on the Advisory Board for the Michigan State University & Grand Valley State University MPH programs. As a member of the American Public Health Association, he has served as a Board Member of the Black Caucus of Health Workers; Action Board representative, Governing Councilor and Policy Committee Chair for the Community Health Planning & Policy Development (CHPPD) section. He currently serves as Chair of the CHPPD section. He also served as a Board Member and Policy Chair for the Michigan Public Health Association. Bryan received the Outstanding Leadership in Community Health Award from MHA for his collaborative work with Michigan State University on their tobacco-free campus initiative as a Consultant.

Kelly Baker, MA

Program Director, Quality and Safety Research

Melissa M. Eckroade

Project Manager

Jackie Stark, CAPM

Program Manager, Education

Stacey Gonzalez

Program Manager, The Telluride Experience

Laria S. Jones, CAPM, PACE

Project Lead & Executive Assistant

Kimberly Cockey

Research Associate